Adam Rodriguez talks stripper names and break-dancing for Magic Mike

Adam Rodriguez plays Tito in Magic Mike, in theaters this Friday, June 29, 2012

Much to my surprise, I received a phone call saying Adam Rodriguez was on the line for some bonus time to talk a little bit more about Magic Mike, so here is my second interview with him. This time around, we talked a little bit more about what it was like playing a stripper and what he thinks is the perfect first date, so ladies, this one’s for you!

AR: Hey Alexandria, how’s it goin?
AG: I’m good! How about you?
AR: I’m actually stuck in LA traffic.
AG: I’m sorry about that! Hopefully we can get your mind off of it for a little while.
AR: Yeah, take a ride with me, here we go.

AG: I guess my first question for you is, now that you’ve played a stripper in Magic Mike, what kind of crazy role would you love to take on next?
AR: Anything that has to do with wearing clothes! What crazy role would I want to take on next… Wow. You know, I don’t know! I don’t know what would possibly top the stripper role, so I’m just going to go in the opposite direction. I don’t know, maybe a fully suited up Santa Claus or something (laughs). A superhero with a costume on.
AG: But just basically anything with clothes.
AR: Yeah, anything that requires or needs a costume. I liked the idea, I loved my stripper costume and wearing the thong, as terrified as I was of it, but once you put it on, get up there and shake it up a little bit, it’s addictive. So as much as I loved wearing a thong, I would love to wear something where I have to be completely covered from head to toe, in a mask and a cape with some sort of super power.

AG: If you were a stripper in real life, what do you think your stage name would be?
AR: My stage name… I think they say you take the name of your first pet and the street you grew up on or something to that effect, so I’ll keep it simple and do that. Spanky Hill.
AG: That actually kind of sounds like a stripper name! So, Spanky Hill, what kind of song would he come onstage to do you think?
AR: Oh wow…what song would he come on to? Hmm.
AG: Maybe just your favorite song to dance to. What do you think that is?
AR: You know, Ginuwine – Ride That Pony, which actually we use in the movie, because it’s a great stripper song. You know, girl stripper songs are so different from guy stripper songs, so every time I think of a stripper song, a girl stripper song comes into my head.
AG: So what girl stripper song are you thinking of?
AR: Nah, I’m not gonna say it.
AG: Oh, come on!
AR: I’m not gonna say it! (laughs)

AG: Well then what was your favorite scene to shoot in the movie? I know there had to be several.
AR: Lil Wayne – Make it Rain or Rack City. We could build a rack city with Drake (laughs). I’m sorry, what was the next question?
AG: Just what was your favorite scene to shoot in the movie?
AR: My favorite scene to shoot was… you know, they were all so much fun, I swear, because we all just got together and had a lot of fun. My favorite scene to shoot was probably the scene I was the most scared of, which was my Officer and a Gentleman routine where I wore an all white Navy uniform. That was scary for me, because there was this dance move I was pretty terrified to do. I hadn’t done it since I was 11 years old, and I was like, “Damn, I really hope I can pull this off without hurting myself.” So that made it the scariest routine for me to have to do, and it also made it the most fun. That was the one I really enjoyed doing the most.

AG: What is that dance move that you haven’t done since you were 11?
AR: It’s called the “swipe.” You do like a back-handspring almost, but you don’t go all the way back. It’s almost like you dive backwards into a one-handed handstand and you spin around in the air while you do it, and then you land in like a bridge. That’s probably the best way to describe it. Yeah, you have to leave your feet for sure, and you have to land on one hand, if you can imagine that. So I was like, “Oh man, I don’t know how I’m going to do this, this is crazy, I don’t want to even try this.”
AG: What I think is crazy is that you knew how to do that when you were 11! Did you break-dance?
AR: A little bit! I was never really good, but you know, I definitely tried (laughs). I had this one move, you guys will see it. It made it into the cut, so it’s there.

AG: So what do you think you brought to the movie being the Latino of the club?
AR: I mean, naturally, just a little bit of Latino flavor, which always improves things. I think that you can’t really do much in Florida, Texas, Arizona, New Mexico or California without including a Latino in the cast, so I got to be that guy, and I was happy to be there. I’m always looking for a chance to represent, so I wanted to just give it my best shot. I knew I would be the Latino representation in the movie, so I wanted to give it everything I had. I just wanted to make sure that what I brought to the table was something real.

AG: Since this is the men’s issue, I know last time I asked what advice you had for men to attract the ladies, but once you’ve reeled her in, what do you think is the perfect first date?
AR: The perfect first date… You know, I always think for a first date, I definitely like going somewhere you can talk. You want to hear each other. You definitely don’t want to be somewhere that it’s too loud to really hear or be able to have conversation. I think the first date is always a good feel-out for what the conversation is like. If you just have a meal or something together and then you decide to go do something later where it might be louder, like go watch a band at a concert or whatever, but you definitely need some time to get to know the person. It’s in that moment that you determine whether there is going to be a second date, so what would be the perfect first date? Oh man, so much pressure. I always like bowling as a first date. I think picking any first date is great if you pick something you can both be silly at doing, you know? If that’s going dancing, going roller-skating, going bowling, anything you can do where the situation and how you guys both handle the situation is going to A) cause some laughter and B) give you a chance to see how the person you’re on a date with sort of deals with a challenge, which is always interesting.

AG: All right, well thank you so much for taking some time out of your busy drive in Los Angeles to talk to me.
AR: Oh, for sure, I could go on and on, I probably have another 45 minutes to travel two miles, so if you have any more questions, that’s fine.
AG: Well I guess just if there’s anything else you think the people of Houston need to know about you or the movie, anything I haven’t touched on?
AR: I think that people need to know that I actually loved being a part of this movie. I know Houston has a huge Latino population, so I hope I brought that flavor to the movie and made them feel good about being represented.
AG: Awesome. Well, thank you so much, and good luck out there!
AR: Thanks a lot, Alex, bye!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

