One Day: A Movie That Will Make You Cry and…Well, That’s About It.

Don't be fooled by the poster, it's nowhere near all rainbows and sunshine.

I should have paid heed to Jewell’s warning when I got home and her and Roxie had just finished watching One Day with Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess. When I told her I’d been dying to watch it, she said, “Don’t do it, Lex, it’s super duper depressing!” I thought, “How bad can it be? I’ve seen Atonement and Revolutionary Road. It doesn’t get more depressing than that.” I was wrong.

This movie is bad news after bad news after bad news. I stayed awake watching it in the hopes that something good and/or happy would happen eventually, but it was to no avail! I always wanted to watch the movie and read the book, but now that I’ve seen the movie, reading the book would be re-living the anguish of the movie.

SPOILER ALERT: I will be discussing the sad events in this movie in the next paragraphs, so if you haven’t watched it and want to watch it eventually, don’t read on! You can pick back up on the paragraph that’s bolded again.
Basically, Emma (Anne Hathaway) and Dex (Jim Sturgess) are friends who are secretly in love with each other, and each year on July 15th, from 1988 to 2011, we get to see what is going on in their lives.  We fall witness to failed careers, failed relationships, failed marriages, failed attempts to conceive, death and everything else that follows.

First, Emma is an aspiring writer who spends two years waiting tables at a cheap, imitation Mexican restaurant. Then, Dex becomes a TV host but spirals downward after becoming addicted to drugs and alcohol. He has dinner with Emma and insults her enough for her to not want anything to do with him. If that’s not enough, his mom gets cancer…and dies.

Things seem like they’re starting to look up when Emma starts dating a comedian and Dex starts dating Sylvie, and they reunite as friends. But wait, Dex and Sylvie get married and have a baby, and we see that she is cheating on him, leaving him at home alone with the baby, and Emma is unhappy with her unfunny comedian boyfriend. Finally, Dex and Emma admit they love each other and get married, YAY! This happiness is short-lived, because two years later, we find out Dex and Emma can’t get pregnant.

Then, the mother of all unhappy storylines blindsides you. Emma is on her way home when she gets hit by a bus on her bike. I sat up in my bed and yelled, “Are you kidding me?!” as the tears rolled down my cheek (forgive my dramatic license). I mean, c’mon! A year later, Dex is sad and lonely at a club and ends up drunk and beat-up on his doorstep while his ex-wife cleans him up as he sobs. In the last scene, Dex takes his daughter back to the place him and Emma spent their first day together and talks about how much he misses her and how much he loved her. End of story. I don’t know about you, but I was emotionally exhausted after watching this. I just don’t understand how anyone can enjoy being put through watching a story like this!

If you paid attention and didn’t read the paragraphs following the SPOILER ALERT, you can pick back up here:
There are some movies I have vowed never to watch again, simply because they are just too sad and disheartening. Those movies include Atonement, Revolutionary Road, The Reader, Schindler’s List, and now, One Day. My dad’s girlfriend is always telling me The Boy in the Striped Pajamas is such a good sad movie, but I am still reeling from the marathon of sadness that is One Day. I don’t think I can watch those kinds of movies anymore!

So, if you enjoy movies that make you say, “ARE YOU SERIOUS,” and make you cry so much you have to go to the restroom to get some toilet paper to wipe the snot off your face, you’ll enjoy One Day. If not, you have been warned.

    • Santos
    • January 9th, 2012

    I haven’t seen the movie, but the book follows the same premise, and it was really good! It might be that the one day each year part doesn’t translate well on screen, but it is such a good story idea! I might still watch the movie even after this warning :)…

    • Yunice
    • December 28th, 2013

    i watched this in the middle of the night and cried like hell…

    • onceuponatardis
    • November 4th, 2014

    I cried so much and I anted to scream my head off when emma died but it was 2am and i would wake everyone

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

