New Year, New Releases!

It’s 2012! Time for the first post of the new year, folks, so here we go. There are some exciting movies coming out this month, and I can’t wait to watch and review them for you! Here are the movies I’ll be seeing this month.

In theaters this Friday: January 6, 2012

1. The Devil Inside (January 6th)
I have never been a huge fan of horror films, because they’re usually really predictable and not very scary, but this one looks like it may make a believer out of me! When I watched The Exorcist when I was probably around six years old, I cried myself to sleep and asked my Grammer to pray a rosary for me every night before bed. “\The Devil Inside looks like I may or may not be praying a rosary myself now! I will also be interviewing Ysamur Gonzalez, a “paranormal expert,” about the movie as well as other known exorcisms on Friday. I’ll have that posted up as soon as it happens!

Beauty & the Beast, in 3D and IMAX on January 13th, 2012

2. Beauty & the Beast (January 13th)
So I’ve definitely already seen this movie (obviously, I was a female child in the 90s), but I’m intrigued as to how they could possibly make this Disney classic more enthralling in 3D. I loved the 3D release of The Lion King, but that’s because it was The Lion King. It is my favorite Disney movie of all time. A sister date will have to be in order for this one, for sure, and I can’t wait until my niece is old enough to join us!

In theaters January 20, 2012

3. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (January 20th)
Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock star in this movie that has seemed to stay flying under the radar. It is based on a book about a young boy whose father is killed in the World Trade Center attacks on September 11, 2001. He leaves him a key, and he tries to find out what his father meant by leaving it behind. The movie introduces Thomas Horn, who I’ve read really good things about.

Coriolanus, starring Ralph Fiennes & Gerard Butler, 1/20/12

4. Coriolanus (January 20th)
This movie marks Ralph Fiennes’ directorial debut, a modern-day adaptation of William Shakespeare’s Coriolanus. After I saw Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet in third grade, I made my dad buy me a collection of Shakespeare’s works at Barnes & Noble. Needless to say, he was excited I actually bought something other than toys there. Anyway, I became obsessed. Then, I took a course on Shakespeare in college. Even after all of this Shakespeare exploration, I still have not read Coriolanus, so I’m looking forward to experiencing it as a modern-day adaptation for the first time just like with Romeo + Juliet. I just hope it’s not another Ethan Hawke in Hamlet disaster!

Liam Neeson stars in The Grey, in theaters 1/27/12

5. The Grey (January 27th)
Liam Neeson leads the pack in this survival thriller about a group of oil-riggers who crash-land in the Alaskan wilderness. I have to say, I’ve loved all of Neeson’s leading-man roles so far, so I’ve got high expectations for this one. If he’s any type of badass like in Taken, I’m excited.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

